Preliminary program



Registration for speakers

Registration for participants

RTG 1570 and
SFB 1277 Workshop

19.09.- 21.09.2018

Thon-Dittmer-Palais, Regensburg, Germany

John Schliemann
john.schliemann (at)

Jonathan Eroms
jonathan.eroms (at)

Tobias Korn
tobias.korn (at)

Dirac Fermions and Relativistic Effects in 2D Materials

We organize an international workshop on Dirac Fermions and Relativistic Effects in 2D Materials, taking place from Sept 19th to Sept 21st 2018 in Regensburg. The workshop is co-organized by the Research Training Group on Carbon-Based Nanostructures (RTG 1570) and the recently established Collaborative Research Center on Emergent Relativistic Effects in Condensed Matter (SFB 1277). We will focus on relativistic properties of electrons in graphene, transition metal dichalcogenides and other two-dimensional materials, in particular the presence of Dirac fermions, effects of spin-orbit coupling, or proximity effects in van der Waals heterostructures. We will discuss, for example, electronic transport, optical properties, or plasmonic effects in those materials.

The workshop will be located in the Thon-Dittmer-Palais, right in the historic city center of Regensburg, a world cultural heritage site.

The workshop is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the University Foundation Hans Vielberth.

In addition to the invited speakers and participants from Regensburg University, we welcome a number of participants from outside Regensburg. In this case, a conference fee of 100 Euros will apply. Participants are also invited to submit an abstract for a poster presentation.

Invited Speakers

Confirmed invited speakers:

Cory Dean, Columbia University
Yoshihiro Iwasa, Tokyo University
Tatiana Rappoport, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro
Jurgen Smet, MPI Stuttgart
Christoph Stampfer, RWTH Aachen
Janina Maultzsch, Uni Erlangen
Igor Gornyi, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Tobias Stauber, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid
Paulina Plochocka, Hochfeldlabor Toulouse
Zhe Wang, Université de Genève
Peter Rickhaus, ETH Zürich
Ermin Malic, Chalmers University, Sweden
Di Xiao, Carnegie Mellon University
Roland Kawakami, Ohio State University
Ming-Hao Liu, National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan


Thon-Dittmer-Palais, Haidplatz 8, 93047 Regensburg

In cooperation with: